

# SAMA23 nominees announced

The list of SAMA23 nominees has been announced and is dominated by new artists who released their debut or second projects in the past year.

The nominees were unveiled at Destiny Exclusive Hotels in Kempton Park. Nhlanhla Sibisi, RiSA CEO, toasted the achievers, "This is the year newcomers take most of the limelight undoubtedly. It is truly encouraging to see so many young and new artists dominate the list. It can only bode well for the industry. The future is bright and we couldn't be happier for them."

The SAMA23 awards ceremony will be held in Sun City on 27 May.



### **Best Newcomer of the Year**

Soul Kulture – Ngeliny'ilanga Babes Wodumo – Gqom Queen Vol. 1 Sketchy Bongo- Unmasked Nasty C – Bad Hair Extentions Amanda Black – Amazulu

## Best Duo/Group of the Year

The Soil – The Soil
Jaziel Brothers – Jaziel Brothers
Soul Kulture – Ngeliny'ilanga
The Parlotones – Trinkets Relics & Heirlooms
Black Motion – Ya Badimo

#### **Best Female Artist of the Year**

Lebo Sekgobela – Restored Babes Wodumo – Gqom Queen Vol. 1 Kelly Khumalo – My Truth Amanda Black – Amazulu Thandiswa – Belede

### **Best Male Artist of the Year**

Dr Tumi – Heart of a king Kwesta – Dakar II Musa – Musa Nasty C – Bad Hair Extentions Nathi – Umbulelo Wam

### **Best Album of the Year**

Kwesta – Dakar II Black Motion – Ya Badimo Amanda Black – Amazulu Nasty C – Bad Hair Extentions Thandiswa – Belede

### **Best Rock Album**

The Sweet Resistance – Where There Is Hope Lost & Found – Lost & Found Richard Stirton – Middle Ground The Parlotones – Trinkets, Relics & Heirlooms Albert Frost – The Wake Up

## **Best Pop Album**

Matthew Mole – Run Locnville - Taste the Weekend GoodLuck – The Nature Within Sketchy Bongo – Unmasked TiMO ODV – Origins (Digital Edition)

# **Beste Pop Album**

4Werke – 4 Warm

ADAM – Hoogtevrees

Dewald Wasserfall – Jy Is Die Storm

Kurt Darren – Sal Jy Met My Dans

Snotkop – HKGK

# **Best Adult Contemporary Album**

Elvis Blue – Optics Hugh Masekela – No Borders Majozi – Fire Mango Groove - Faces to the Sun Msaki – Zaneliza: How The Water Moves

## Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album

Adam Tas – Patatas en Pyptabak Coenie de Villiers – Emoji Joshua na die Reën – Die Wêreld Binne My Refentse – My hart bly in 'n taal Ricus Nel – Ouskool Boerseun

#### **Best African Adult Album**

Dumza Maswana – Molo Kelly Khumalo – My Truth Nathi Umbulelo Wam Nozipho – Thando Soul Kulture – Ngeliny'ilanga

#### **Best Alternative Music Album**

Arno Carstens – Die Aandblom 13 Chris Chameleon – Firmament Native Young – Kings Somerfaan – Alien Boogie Stuff Tailor – Trust Part 1

### Best R&B Soul Reggae Album

Afrotraction – Love and respect Amanda Black – Amazulu Brenda Mtambo – So Much More Karabo – Matters of the heart Tima Reece – 9

### **Best Rap Album**

A Reece – Paradise
Khuli Chana – One Source
Kwesta – Dakar II
Nasty C – Bad Hair Extentions
Stogie T – Stogie T

#### **Best Kwaito Album**

Babes Wodumo – Gqom Queen Vol. 1

Bullistic – N.W.O (New World Order)

Dr Malinga – Goodwill

Taylor K – Paper Chase

Trademark & Zinhle Ngidi – Trademark & Zinhle Ngidi

#### **Best Dance Album**

DJ Clock – The 5th tick Black Motion – Ya Badimo Durbans' Finest – Durbans' Finest – Reloaded Mobi Dixon – Live The Music NaakMusiQ – Born to Entertain

## **Best Traditional Faith Music Album**

Deborah Fraser – Uhambo Sfiso Ncwane – Wethembekile Baba Spirit Of Praise – Spirit Of Praise Vol.6 Teboho - Nkutlwele Bohloko Zaza – Blowing the horn of chronicle

## **Best Contemporary Faith Music Album**

Dr Tumi – Heart of a king Dr Tumi – Love and grace Khaya Mthethwa – The Dawn Lebo Sekgobela – Restored We Will Worship – Mmuso

### **Best Traditional Music Album**

Candy – Easy Come Easy Go Dr Thomas Chauke Na Shinyori Sisters – Shimatsatsa No 34: Xiganga Mmaausi – Monna Oa Sokelwa Qadasi & Maqhinga – Lashis' Ilanga Shabalala Rhythm – Yebo Ngiyavuma

### Best Maskandi Album

Imfez'emnyama – Monalisa imithente – s"yawuvala umlomo Khuzani – Inyoni yomthakathi Shwi noMtekhala – Kwabhalwa etsheni Thokozani Langa – Amabrazo

#### **Best Jazz Album**

Darren English – Imagine Nation dave reynolds & pops mohamed – live in grahamstown Nduduzo Makhathini with Umgidi Trio and One Voice Vocal Ensemble – Inner Dimensions Sydney Mavundla – Luhambo Thandiswa – Belede

#### Classical Instrumental Album

Bongani Radebe - Buyelekhaya Sax Rendition
Charl du Plessis Trio – Baroqueswing Vol. II
Imilonji KaNtu Choral Society – And Then I Heard A Voice by SJ Khosa
The Voice of Angels – The Voice of Angels Volume 2
University of Pretoria – Love and War

### **Best Afro Pop Album**

Jaziel Brothers – Jaziel Brothers Musa – Musa Robbie Malinga – Robbie Malinga The Soil – The Soil Vusi Nova - Vusi Nova

### African Indigenous Gospel Album

Amadodana Ase Wesile – Amadodana Ase Wesile Jerusalema E Ncha – Jerusalema E Ncha Lejwe la Motheo – Lejwe la Motheo Living In Christ Legends – Living In Christ Legends T.C.C.C Mass Choir – T.C.C.C Mass Choir

#### **Best African Artist**

Jah Prayzah – Jah Prayzah Oliver Mtukudzi – Oliver Mtukudzi Patoranking – Patoranking Vee Mampeezy – Vee Mampeezy Vuyo Katsha – Vuyo Katsha

## **Live Audio Visual Recording Album**

Joyous Celebration – Joyous Celebration 20 – Part 2 – The Alumni Joyous Celebration – Joyous Celebration 20 Live at The Moses Mabhida Stadium Khaya Mthethwa – The Dawn Krone & Various Artists – Krone 3 DVD Spirit Of Praise – Spirit Of Praise Vol.6

### **Best Collaboration Album**

Black Coffee – Your eyes

Kwesta ft DJ Bucks, Okmalumkoolkat & DJ Maphorisa – Mayibabo ft DJ Bucks, Okmalumkoolkat & DJ Maphorisa

Kwesta – Ngud'

Miss Pru – Ameni

Musa – Mthande

#### **Best Music Video of the Year**

Khuli Chana – One Source

Miss Pru – Ameni

Nasty C – Don't do it

Nasty C – Good Girls

Reason ft AKA & Khuli Chana – Yipikayay

#### **Best Produced Album**

Afrotraction – Love and respect Brenda Mtambo – So Much More Matthew Mole – Run Rubber Duc – The Secret Sun sjava – Isina Muva

# **Best Engineered Album**

The Soil – Echoes of Kofifi Arno Carstens – Aandblom 13 Mango Groove - Faces to the Sun Jesse Clegg – Things Unseen LeAnne Dlamini – Warrior

### Remix of the Year

Distruction Boys – Wololo (Dbanj Remix)

DJ Mizz – Close to you (Mizz Afro Remix)

Evida – The Woods (Evida Remix)

Kyle Deutsch – Can't Get enough (Official Remix)

Vic – Wena Wedwa (MusicCraftMAN Mix)

samusicawards.co.za

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com