🗱 BIZCOMMUNITY

Agricultural Writers SA awards top farmers, new entrants and agriculturists

Aiming to give prominence to the work that farmers and agriculturists do in South African agriculture, the Agricultural Writers SA recently hosted awards - sponsored by Monsanto SA, Sanlam, Santam Agriculture and Rovic Leers - to honour new entrants into commercial agriculture and agriculturists for their excellence in commercial farming.



©Zoran Orcik via 123RF

"Every day we are met with the challenge of catering a growing population. With these awards, Agricultural Writers SA acknowledges the role that farmers and agriculturists play in addressing food security," said Magda du Toit, chairman of Agricultural Writers SA.

The candidates that were honoured were:

Agriculturist of the Year

- Gauteng Dr Koos Coetzee
- Limpopo Dr Elsje Joubert
- North West Dr Annemie Erasmus
- Free State Johan van den Berg
- Northern Cape Dup Haarhoff
- Western Cape Dr Johann Strauss
- Eastern Cape Jeff Every

New Entrant into Commercial Agriculture

- Gauteng Dr Brylyne Chitsunge (Elpasso Farms)
- Free State Solomon Mosoeu
- Western Cape Warren Bam

Farmer of the Year

• Gauteng - Vito Rugani (Greenway Farms)

- Limpopo Piet Engelbrecht (Piet Engelbrecht Trust family farming)
- Kwazulu-Natal Xolani Gumede (Cappeny Estates)
- Western Cape Charles Back

The National Award recipients were:

National New Entrant into Commercial Agriculture: Warren Bam National Agriculturist of the Year: Dr Annemie Erasmus National Farmer of the Year: Charles Back

#AgriWritersSA recently acknowledged the outstanding achievements of commercial farmer Charles Back, new

entrant into commercial agriculture, Warren Bam and agriculturist,Dr Annemie Erasmus. Click on the link to read the full article: <u>https://t.co/Mfd5vVM1Ra pic.twitter.com/gvehQ59s9K</u>— AgriOrbit (@AgriOrbit) <u>November 14, 2017</u>

40th anniversary

The association also commemorated its 40th anniversary since its establishment in1977 when seven agricultural journalists, from three components of the media – journals, daily newspapers and electronics – assembled in Johannesburg to formally establishing the Agricultural Writers Association of South Africa.

From those small beginnings, the association expanded rapidly until it reached a membership total of 140 two years later and 187 in 1985. Today, membership stands at more than 200. At its inaugural meeting on 30 March 1977, the very first clause adopted for incorporation in its constitution provided for the annual selection of a regional and national farmer and agriculturist of the year.

"The Agricultural Writers SA understands the importance of food security and the critical role farmers play in providing food for our people. We will continue to shine this light on them and provide support where necessary," said du Toit.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com