🗱 BIZCOMMUNITY

Local Media Excellence Awards honour top journalists

The annual Local Media Excellence Awards for 2015, held at Leriba Hotel and Spa in Centurion, were presented under the auspices of the Forum of Community Journalists (FCJ).



At the Awards (previously known as the Sanlam/MDDA Local Media awards), local and community newspapers from all over the country and across all media houses compete against each other to award the best of the best in South Africa.

The judges said, "In general, we were impressed with the work submitted by the finalists. The local media is clearly in the forefront of informing (and entertaining) the communities they serve. In fact, print media is far from dying when one looks at the local media newspapers. On the contrary, it is alive and kicking."

Winners

- Journalist of the Year: Jana Boshoff (Middelburg Observer)
- Photographer of the Year: Zita Goldswain (Witbank News)

Best Front Pages

- Independent commercial newspaper: Zoutpansberger
- Corporate owned free newspaper: TygerBurger (Table View)
- Corporate owned paid newspaper: Middelburg Observer
- Community media / grassroots newspapers: Not enough entries to select a winner

Best Newspapers

- Independent commercial newspaper: Zoutpansberger
- Corporate owned free newspaper: Bolander
- Corporate owned paid newspaper: Lowvelder
- · Community media / grassroots newspapers: Not enough entries to select a winner

For more information on the full list of winners, go to <u>www.fcjonline.co.za</u>.