

S.Pellegrino Young Chef 2015 is filled with a taste of Africa

The 10 regional finalists from Africa and the Middle East have been selected for the S.Pellegrino Young Chef 2015, seven of which are South African.



More than 3000 young chefs submitted their application together with their signature dish to get a chance to participate to S.Pellegrino Young Chef 2015, the global scouting project to find the world's best young chefs.

"It was a very hard task to select just so few finalists from so many interesting proposals," says Andrea Sinigaglia, ALMA General Manager. "Having the opportunity to analyse original recipes created by young chefs from all over the world was a thrilling experience, and an incredible demonstration of just how much talent and love for fine food it is possible to find everywhere in the globe."

The 10 African and Middle Eastern finalists are:

- Amoré Botha (South African) Chef de partie, Restaurant '12 Apostles Hotel and Spa'
- Angelo Scirocco (South African) Sous Chef, Restaurant 'Chefs Warehouse'
- Constantijn Hahndiek (South African) Chef, 'OSA restaurant'
- Darren Badenhorst (South African) Chef, Restaurant 'Grande Provence'
- Eka Mochamad Chef, 'Pepper Fine Dining Restaurant by Jumeirah'
- Katlego Sebastian Mlambo (South African) Sous Chef, 'Rust en Vrede Restaurant'
- Rahil Rathod Chef de Partie, Restaurant 'Radisson Blu Hotel Dubai Deira Creek-Boulvar'
- Sanjay Thakur Chef, Restaurant 'Etihad Airways'
- Simone van der Merwe (South African) Sous Chef, 'De Kloof Restaurant'
- Vusi Ndlovu (South African) Sous Chef, Restaurant 'Saxon Qunu Grill'

By the end of February, the 20 best local young chefs from each world region will be announced as the official finalists.

During this final round, a "Mentor Chef," a global renowned cuisine artist who will provide suggestions on how to improve their recipe and, more in general, to become a better chef, will support each of the 20 finalists.

In June, during Expo Milano 2015, a jury of seven famous international chefs, 'Gastón Acurio, Yannick Alléno, Massimo Bottura, Margot Janse, Yoshihiro Narisawa, Éric Ripert and Joan Roca, will elect the winner.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com