

Paarl Media bursaries awarded for 2011

The <u>Paarl Media</u> Bursary Trust has awarded seven bursaries to a group of matriculants from the Boland area for their tertiary studies in 2011. This is the fourth year of awards and the scheme has proved successful with former students still studying in their chosen professions.



L to R Jo-Anne Jones, Tim Carollissen, Ashwin Petersen, Megan Williams, Francois Viljoen and Rone Pletersen. Absent: Johann Wilken

click to enlarge

At a function for the new and existing students, held at Lemoenkloof Guest House, Paarl, on Tuesday, 19 October, Nico Grobbelaar, HR director of Paarl Media, explained the award process, "The successful recipients were selected by the Board of Trustees based on financial need, academic performance to date, relevancy of the course, as well as demonstrated leadership and community involvement. This brings the total allocated since 2006 to thirty three."

Lambert Retief, non-executive chair of Paarl Media said, "We see this as an investment in the youth of our community." He explained that candidates are funded for the duration of their initial study course, on condition that they are successful. "We pay for success," he stressed.

The R10 million bursary scheme, launched in 2008, is administered as a perpetual fund. It is aimed at students who are interested in studying at the University of Stellenbosch, University of Western Cape, Cape Peninsula University of Technology or Elsenburg Agricultural College. Although there are no prescriptions about the field of study, preference is given to candidates residing in the Drakenstein Valley.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com