

New crop of Cape Wine Masters

Six new Cape Wine Masters (CWM) have joined the ranks of the CWM who have graduated since 1984. There are three from Gauteng, Sandy Harper, Debi van Flymen and Conrad Louw, while Francois Bezuidenhout, Marius Malan and Nina-Mari Bruwer make up the Western Cape trio who, coincidentally, also all qualified at Stellenbosch University with a BScAgric degree in Viticulture and Oenology.



All the graduates (L - R): Debi van Flymen, Francois Bezuidenhout, Conrad Louw, Sandy Harper, Nina-Mari Bruwer and Marius Malan

This year's contingent has produced original dissertations on diverse topics:

- · Conrad Louw: Sherry renaissance or departure?
- Debi van Flymen: The production of Bordeaux-style red wines in South Africa
- Francois Bezuidenhout: Producer wines in South Africa
- Marius Malan: Is the Swartland the new South African wine hub?
- Nina-Mari Bruwer: Perceptions in wine and the role and benefits of sensory analytical tools
- Sandy Harper: The relevance of informal wine tasting clubs as a potential marketing channel for small and new wine brands in the South African context

There are now 91 (3 honorary) Cape Wine Masters, including 11 overseas members in the UK, Australia, Germany and the US. Two of the three original wine masters, Duimpie Bayly and Bennie Howard and the late Tony Mossop, were the first to attain this prestigious qualification when it was first instituted 30 years ago. The honorary CWMs are Dave Hughes, Phyllis Hands and Colin Frith who were the examiners for many years.

This year the CWM graduates reflect a gender split of 50:50 - which is more or less in line with the current membership profile of 52% (47) male and 48% (44) female. Western Cape members comprise 55% of the total contingent, and Gauteng members 30%, while other provinces - KwaZulu-Natal and Free State comprise 3% - and overseas members 12% - of the total.

Special awards

This year special awards went to: Sandy Harper for Viticulture, sponsored by Kosie Steenkamp of Groenland; Francois Bezuidenhout for Viniculture which was sponsored by Hein Koegenlegberg of La Motte; and Marius Malan was presented with a Sabre by Jeff Grier of Villiera for Sparkling Wine, while Marlene Bester presented the Van Ryn Brandy Award to Nina Marie Bruwer.

At the AGM of the Institute of Cape Wine Masters, Hein Koegelenberg, CEO of La Motte, was given the prestigious Personality of the Year Award. He was instrumental in helping the Cape Wine Academy continue its education programmes after private investors withdrew their support. Hein had a hand in the wine educational programme for previously disadvantaged and jobless people from the townships. Through a joint venture with a Chinese importer, he has also launched a wine education programme for sales representatives in China.

Changes at the Academy There have been changes for the Cape Wine Academy (CWA) during 2014, with the retirement of wine pioneer Marilyn Cooper after 15 years of service, the last six as CEO, and the strategic appointments of two former CWA graduates, Kristina Beuthner, also a CWM, as Principal and Michelle Grimbeek as the new MD.

A new chairman of the Institute of Cape Wine Masters was also elected. Winnie Bowman takes over from Andy Roediger who has stepped down.

The six dissertations can be viewed on the CWA website www.capewineacademy.co.za.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com