

Vodacom journ awards introduces online category

Entries for the seventh annual Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards have opened, which this year introduces Online Journalism. This new category is aimed at Internet and MP3-based media which produce podcasts, blogs, photography and web-based newsletters and columns (on a free access basis) that are not carried in print, radio and television.

Editors throughout South Africa are encouraged to identify their most promising young journalists who have been in the business for a minimum of two and a maximum of five years and enter them for the Editor's Choice Award. It's the opportunity of a lifetime for the winner, who will receive a grant enabling him or her to study for three months at the prestigious Thomson Foundation in Wales, regarded as one of the best centres for media training in the world.

A Lifetime Achievement Award honours a journalist who has made a significant contribution to the profession. This winner is selected by the judges' panel, who include Dr Melanie Chait, Johann de Wet; Sandra Gordon, Victor Matom, Rich Mkhondo, Phil Molefe, ZB Molefe, Maud Motanyane, Collin Nxumalo, Sefako Andrew Nyaka, Mary Papayya, Lizette Rabe and Robin Sewlal.

Fourteen categories

There are 14 categories in total for entrants to choose from: TV general news; TV feature; Print general news; Print feature; Radio news; Radio feature; Financial/economic; Columnist; Cartoonist; Photographer; Sport; Community Media; Online Journalism and Editors' Choice.

The competition begins with the regional awards, which will be held around the country in October and these winners in the various categories will automatically compete in the National Competition. The final awards will take place at a function to be held in Johannesburg in November.

The 2008 Vodacom Journalist of the Year winner will win R125 000 in cash, as well as being given the opportunity to give back to the community and donate R125 000 to an official charity of his or her choosing. In addition to the big prize, each national winner receives R15 000 and a BlackBerry smartphone, while every regional category winner will receive R7500.

Dot Field, Vodacom's chief communication officer, says, "Vodacom has always ascribed to the power of communication and the critical role that the media plays in our society. It is therefore with pride that we once again sponsor the Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards in 2008. I encourage all South African journalists countrywide to enter this year's competition and put their best work forward in order to have an opportunity to win the new prizes. In addition, the winner of this year's title, Vodacom Journalist of the Year, will have the opportunity to make a donation to a worthy charity of his/hers choice and share in this accolade for excellence."

All material must have been published or broadcast between 1 May 2007 and 30 April 2008. Entries close on 24 July. Journalists wishing to enter can find all relevant information and entry forms on www.vodacom.co.za.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com