

Winners announced for 2016 Standard Bank Sikuvile Awards

The winners of the Publishers Support Services' (PSS), (previously Print and Digital Media South Africa (PDMSA), Standard Bank Sikuvile Awards have been announced.

The Awards took place at The Venue, Green Park (also known as Johannesburg World Trade Centre), in Sandton, with MC Azania Mosaka. In attendance were the top talent of the newspaper journalism industry. The winners were selected from 63 finalists in 17 categories. In total the Awards attracted 484 entries.

Winners

Beauregard Tromp	"The killing of Emmanuel	SundayTimes
Verashni Pillay	Aseries of Columns – "Body of Work"	Mail & Guardian
Bongekile Macupe and Zoe Mahopo	"Big stink"	Sowetan
Ma Malan	"Diepsloot: Where men think it's their right to rape"	Mail & Guardian (Bhekisisa)
Siphe Macanda	"Siyenza toilet scandal"	Daily Dispatch
Dr Jack Swanepoel and John Curtis	"Murich 1935-2015"	Eye Witness News (EWN)
Rudi Louw	"In search of a better life"	Graphics 24: City Press
Everson Luhanga	"Oscar scores in jail"	Daily Sun
James Oatway	"The killing of Emmanuel Sithole"	SundayTimes
Conrad Bornman	"In the shadow of the valleys"	Volksblad
Alon Skuy	"Lesotho –Ski escape"	The Times
Nelandri Narianan	"Face of our past"	The Star
Elsabe Brits and team: (Debree Kluge and Gys Visser)	"HOMO Naledi -Pakket"	Netwerk24
Jessica Mulder and Team: (Stephens Simon, Lebohang Mashiloane, Neil Raath, Andy van Eeden, Andrew Fehrsen and Anastasya Eliseeva)	"Hope to Glory"	eNCAcom
Beauregard Tromp & James Oatway	"The killing of Emmanuel Sithole"	Sunday Times
Nokuthula Mbatha	"Deep in the devil's drug"	The Star
Siphe Macanda	"Siyenza toilet scandal"	Daily Dispatch
	Verashni Pillay Bongekile Macupe and Zoe Mahopo Ma Malan Siphe Macanda Dr Jack Swanepoel and John Curtis Rudi Louw Everson Luhanga James Oatway Conrad Bornman Alon Skuy Nelandri Narianan Elsabe Brits and team: (Debree Kluge and Gys Visser) Jessica Mulder and Team: (Stephens Simon, Lebohang Mashiloane, Neil Raath, Andy van Eeden, Andrew Fehrsen and Anastasya Eliseeva) Beauregard Tromp & James Oatway Nokuthula Mbatha	Sithole Verashni Pillay Raseries of Columns — "Body of Work" Bongekile Macupe and Zoe Mahopo "Big stink" Ma Malan "Diepsloot: Where men think it's their right to rape" Siphe Macanda "Siyenza toilet scandal" Dr Jack Swanepoel and John Curtis Rudi Louw "In search of a better life" Everson Luhanga James Catway "The killing of Emmanuel Sithole" "In the shadow of the valleys" Alon Skuy "Lesotho —Ski escape" Welandri Narianan "Face of our past" Elsabe Brits and team: (Debree Kluge and Gys Visser) Jessica Mulder and Team: (Stephens Simon, Lebohang Mashilloane, Neil Raath, Andy van Eeden, Andrew Fehrsen and Anastasya Eliseeva) Beauregard Tromp & James Catway "Deep in the devil's drug"

^{*}Please note that this year no award was given in Category 18: Allan Kirkland SOGA Lifetime Achiever Award.