

Torch Awards mentors, jury selected for 2016 competition

The Torch Awards, a unique competition for 18-27 year olds that explores a different creative challenge each year and offers mentor training on how to pitch their idea, has announced its mentors and jury.

For the 2016 Torch Awards, New York Festival has partnered with The Institute for Human Centered Design (IHCD) a non-profit dedicated to enhancing the experiences of people of all ages and abilities through excellence in design.

NEW YORK FESTIVALS' TORCH AWARDS

Mentors

2016's Torch Award mentors were recruited from New York Festivals International Advertising Awards Executive Jury of worldwide chief creative officers and executive creative directors.

- Frank Bodin, chairman & chief creative officer, Havas Worldwide Switzerland
- Josy Paul, chairman & chief creative officer, BBDO India
- Judy John, CEO / chief creative officer, Leo Burnett Toronto Canada
- Lisa Bennett, chief creative officer, TM Advertising US
- Valerie Cheng, head of creative, Facebook South East Asia Singapore

Jury

- David Angelo, founder & chairman, David + Goliath US
- Helen Pak, CEO & chief creative officer, Havas Worldwide Canada
- Lisa Fedyszyn, associate creative director, Droga5 NY US
- Michael O'Rourke, president, New York Festivals US
- Nir Refuah, chief innovation officer, McCann Erickson Romania
- Valerie Fletcher, executive director, Institute of Human Centered Design US
- Willa Crolius, director of user/expert lab & coordinator of public programs, Institute of Human Centered Design US
- Yasu Sasaki, executive creative director, Dentsu Inc. / Dentsu Aegis Network Japan

Finalist teams were announced on 9 April and will convene in New York City on 18 May 2016. Finalists in the Inclusive Design Challenge will present their creative concept for a digital media showcase that presents the inclusive design progress and success stories. It will be a permanent fixture in the exhibit showroom at the IHCD headquarters in Boston, Massachusetts.

The Torch Awards 2016 Grand Winning Team will be announced live from the stage on 19 May at the New York Show, during the awards ceremony in the Rose Theater at Jazz at Lincoln Center's Frederick P. Rose Hall.

For more information, click here.