🗱 BIZCOMMUNITY

Minister of Finance appoints new board for IRBA

The minister of Finance, Mr Pravin Gordhan, has appointed a new eight-member board for the Independent Regulatory Board for Auditors (IRBA), in terms of section 12(1) of the Auditing Profession Act (Act No. 26 of 2005). The new board assumed its duties on 1 April 2013.



The appointed members come from various backgrounds including law, academics and accountancy. Between them is a wealth of experience that will help the IRBA continue serve as the protector of public interest, and to grow the confidence of investors, thereby stimulating economic growth and investment.

Public protectors

The new board comprises Willem van der Linde SC, Yunus Suleman CA (SA), Cynthia Mbili CA (SA), Iqbal Khan CA (SA) and Prof Lindelwa Majova-Songca CA (SA) who served on the previous board. They are joined by Rene Kenosi CA (SA), Pule Mothibe CA (SA), RA and Prof Alex van der Watt. Further details of the board members can be found on www.irba.co.za/theboard/committees.

"We welcome the new board and look forward to working with them. We are confident that they will continue to lead the IRBA in its role as public protector and enhance the good work that it has come to be known for," says Bernard Agulhas, CEO of IRBA.

The board will be chaired by Willem van der Linde SC with his deputy, Yunus Suleman. The two-year board term is renewable once only for new board members.

For further information, go to www.irba.co.za.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com