

Names of those on board SAAF aircraft released

PRETORIA: The South African Air Force (SAAF) has released the names of those who died in the military aircraft crash in the Drakensburg.



The SAAF had earlier said that a rescue team located the wreckage of a C-47 Dakota aircraft this morning in the area of Giants Castle within the Drakensberg mountain range. It also confirmed there were no survivors.

A board of inquiry has been convened to investigate the circumstances surrounding the cause of the accident.

The SAAF had said that the names of the deceased would be released when all the next of kin had been informed.

The crew members on board the aircraft were Major K. Misrole, Captain Z.M. Smith, Sergeant B.K. Baloyi, Sergeant E. Boes, Sergeant J.M Mamabolo and Corporal L. Mofokeng.

The passengers who were on board the aircraft were Sergeant L. Sobantu, Corporal N.W. Khomo, Corporal A. Matlaila, Corporal M.J. Mthombeni and Lance Corporal N.K. Aphane.

Meanwhile, KwaZulu-Natal Premier Zweli Mkhize said the province would give its full support to the Minister of Defence and Military Veterans Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula, the Chief of the SANDF, General Solly Shoke and the Chief of the Air Force, Lt-Gen Zimpande Msimang during this period.

"Although no amount of words can best express our deepest sympathies to the families for the pain and irreparable loss of loved ones, on behalf of the KwaZulu-Natal Provincial Government, I take this opportunity to pass our sincerest condolences to the families, relatives and all their next of kin, including their colleagues at the SANDF," said Mkhize.

The minister, chief of the SANDF and chief of the Air Force had earlier conveyed their sincere and deepest condolences to the families and loved ones of the deceased.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com