

SABC scores well for music award nominees

SABC radio stations and presenters are well represented in this year's South African Traditional Music Achievements (SATMA) Awards nominees. This year, the awards' categories garnered 190 613 SMS nominations and 697 entries over the 63-day nomination period. The winners will be announced on 1 October 2017 at the gala dinner in Mahikeng.



Alexey Laputin © 123RF.com

SABC nominees

- Best traditional music radio programme of the year: Dzumba na Mina (Munghana Lonene FM), Lwesuka Lutfuli (Ligwalagwala FM), Lavuth'iBhayi (Umhlobo Wenene FM).
- Best traditional radio presenter of the year nominees: Monwabisi Bangi "Gudla" (Umhlobo Wenene FM), Ntsoaki
 Motloung (Lesedi FM), Willem Viljoen (RSG), Sthembele Thomas "Mantofontofo" (TruFM), Vusi shabangu (Ikwekwezi
 FM), Russel Kwinika (Munghana Lonene FM) Hunadi Mogohlwane (Thobela FM), Modika Mothuzi (Motsweding FM),
 Vincers Mabele (XK FM), Bheka Mchunu & Nkosinathi Mshengu (Ukhozi FM), Magidzeludzakeni (Ligwalagwala FM),
 Godfrey Mavhasa (Phalaphala FM)
- Traditional radio programme loyal listener: Siphenathi Keswa (I-Identist) (Umhlobo wenene FM), William Mahlangu (IKwekwezi FM), Salome Mmgomogale (X-K FM), Bellia Phutiyagae (Motsweding FM)
- Best cultural electronic media journalist: Benjamin Tsotetsi Ikwekwezi FM; Bongani Mavuso Ukhozi FM; Lesibana Matlala - Motsweding FM; Caswel Taolane - XK FM; Palisa Moeti - Lesedi FM; Mweli Masilela - SABC News; Unathi Bingose - Umhlobo Wenene FM; News Zimkhita Manginana - SABC News
- Best traditional music airplay radio station of the year: Ligwalagwala FM; Phalaphala FM; Thobela FM; Umhlobo Wenene FM; Munghana Lonene FM; Ikwekwezi FM; TruFM; Lesedi FM; RSG; Motsweding FM; XK FM; Ukhozi FM

The SATMA Awards promote, preserve, uplift, develop, honour and award traditional musicians across racial and ethnic background. They have contributed to the cultural landscape of South Africa through nation building and social cohesion. For more information, click here.